Skip to content

Asian Peanut Noodles

May 28, 2013

by Elizabeth

IMG_0396Asian food is a funny thing for me. I don’t eat it terribly often, but a couple times a month I get intense cravings for sushi/fried rice/pad thai/other generic popularized Asian food. And most of the time, once I actually obtain said craving, it’s not as good as I wanted it to be. (Maybe bc I most often get sushi or noodles from Central Market, which is after all – gasp – just a grocery store?)

And this problem is especially bad when I try to make Asian food. It’s just never quite right, and I’m not familiar enough with the ingredients to try to fix the recipe as I go. In fact, I got all the ingredients for these noodles, then put off making it for the better part of a week, then made it and still didn’t have it for lunch the day I planned because I was dreading the disappointment of mediocre Asian food. I finally ended up eating it out of desperation one night after I got stuck at work, then stuck at the gym, and was starving at 8 pm.

OMG these peanut noodles were so good. So good I had to immediately tweet about them and I couldn’t wait to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day. This never happens with Asian attempts.

Bonus: this was a super quick recipe, especially if you (kind of) plan ahead and have leftover chicken and noodles waiting for you in the fridge.

Asian Peanut Noodles

Makes enough for 2 small or lunch-sized portions, Adapted from The Cozy Apron

2 cups cooked linguini (I used whole wheat)

1 cup sliced cabbage (Tip: get this from the salad bar if you don’t want a whole head of cabbage)

1/2 cup shredded carrots (ditto)

1 chicken breast, chopped into small pieces

2 green onions

1 tablespoon minced cilantro

Sweet and Spicy Peanut Sauce

2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 1/2 tablespoons honey

1 1/2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 clove garlic, minced very fine

1/4 teaspoon Sriracha sauce (or to taste)

Mix dressing ingredients in a small bowl. If you don’t like spicy sauces, use less Sriracha, or add more if you like it hot.

In a 4-cup or larger bowl, toss all ingredients together. When ready to serve, add dressing and toss to combine. You might not need all of the dressing. Serve cool or room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

