Skip to content

Couscous with Almonds, Scallions, and Feta and Apricot Vinaigrette

April 23, 2013

IMG_8783

Apparently, my new trick for not becoming bored with potentially blah foods (couscous, rice and beans, brown rice) is to add vinaigrette. I really wish I had figured this out earlier, because I probably could have gotten on the quinoa/ farro/ bulgar bandwagon years ago if I knew adding a vinaigrette would make whole grains infinitely more appealing. (I realize couscous is not a whole grain, but it’s the same principle.) Really, it’s just like dressing a traditional salad – and who would ever eat raw greens without a drizzle of something? While the vinaigrette does make the dish a tad more caloric, I say who.cares., because olive oil is good for you, and there is no good reason to eat boring food.

*also, this is a “real life” photo. I eat out of paper bowls and use plasticware every day for lunch because our office has no kitchen. I guess I could stash a real bowl at the office for blog photos, but that would be a bit too creepy for my style. Kind of like the time I came to work with pizza dough rising in my purse.

Couscous with Almonds, Scallions, and Feta with Apricot Vinaigrette

adapted from Real Simple, serves 4

1 10 oz box couscous (I used garlic olive oil flavor) or about 4 cups leftover couscous (extra points for whole wheat, although I used regular)
4 scallions, minced
1/3 cup sliced almonds
1/3 cup crumbled feta

Vinaigrette
1 tablespoon apricot or orange jam
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Prepare couscous according to package directions. Mix in scallions, almonds and feta. Drizzle dressing over (you might not want to use all of it) then toss to combine. Serve slightly warm or at room temperature. Fresh black pepper finishes the dish nicely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

