Skip to content

Using your Le Creuset 101

March 7, 2013

by Elizabeth

After a jaunt through Williams-Sonoma where I was deciding what color Le Creuset I would theoretically add to my collection now that my lime green is discontinued (Marseilles blue won), our friend Christina asked what exactly I use my Le Creuset Dutch Ovens for. “Everything!” I squealed. I might be obsessed my Le Creusets in all honesty. They are by far the most used cookware items in my kitchen. I have two – a small oval that I think is 2 quarts even though I don’t see those available right now; and a round 7 1/4 quart (I think…does anyone really visualize pots by quart? I would call it medium-large). Since I’m usually cooking for just husband and myself, I use the small one most often.

7593505670_92261e4f16_z

Le Creusets can be used to cook almost anything – not just soups. I find that they maintain a very even cooking temperature, so it’s great for cooking things low and slow, but you can also brown meats with the cast iron. They are also incredibly easy to clean – burned on food and oil generally wipes right off with soap and water, no scrubbing needed. I also love that they can go straight from stove top to oven, and there is always a lid when you need it. Not to mention they are beautiful, so you can serve straight from the pot.

IMG_8871

Here are some things you can cook in your Le Creuset if you’re lucky enough to have one:

Soups

Chili

Beans of any kind

Gumbo or Jambalaya – for Jambalaya, the pot can go straight into the oven.

Braised Short Ribs, or any kind of braised meats really

Beef Bourguignon

Pot Roast

Chicken and Dumplings

Roast Chicken

Pasta Sauces – there is plenty of room to add the cooked pasta to the sauce – such as Venison Bolognese with Tagliatelle or Baked Orzo

Macaroni and Cheese – ditto

Risotto – I actually have a fancy copper risotto pot that is my prized culinary possession, but a Le Creuset works perfectly.

Taco meat, or any time you need to brown ground meat for something – I always end up stirring too aggressively and knocking it out of a regular skillet.

Caramelized onions – Le Creuset is perfect for low and slow cooking.

Enchilada filling for Chicken or Black Bean varieties – lots of room to add ingredients

Frying – Okra, chicken, or taco shells. Burned oil is much easier to get off a Le Creuset than stainless.

Baking bread

Cranberry sauce, or any kind of fruit jam or filling

Braised Vegetables

Spinach or greens – anything that takes up a lot of room at first before it cooks down

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 6:34 am

    I adore le creuset – I have a slightly different brand actually, but it’s the same sort of thing!

  2. March 17, 2013 10:48 am

    I have a set that is forty years old and still looks new, but find that I often opt for something lighter. You’ve inspired me to use it.

Leave a Reply

