Skip to content

Brown Rice Greek Salad

February 20, 2013

by Elizabeth

GreekRiceSalad

 

There is a little catering and lunch spot in Dallas that I adore – Two Sisters. They offer my favorite lunch item, a trio plate, and have amazing pimento cheese. But the best part is the options for the trio plate are endless – they have at least 20 salads and sides to choose from, and they go far beyond the standard chicken salad and fruit salad. They’re different choices every time I go in, although they keep a few standards, but the impression I’ve gotten is that they throw together pasta, orzo and veggie salads based on what they  might have in the kitchen. Southwest chicken, sugar snaps and blue cheese, artichoke pasta! And of course, they’re all delicious.

I’ve gotten better at cooking like that – using what I have that is – but I’ve never put much though into what goes into my rice. I’m now a zshusing up rice convert and can’t wait to try more combinations. Add some fruit and pimento cheese and I’ll be whipping up my own trio plates at maison de Liz!

Brown Rice Greek Salad, adapted from thelemonbowl.com

serves 4-6

2 cups brown rice – prepared (I used one boil in a bag)
1 cup chickpeas – cooked
1 cup roasted or sun dried tomatoes – chopped
1 cup cucumber – diced
1/2 cup scallions or chives– minced
1/4 cup feta cheese – crumbled
1/2 cup olives – green or kalamata
Zest and juice of one lemon
1 tbs olive oil
1 garlic clove – grated, optional
Salt and pepper to taste

Toss rice, chickpeas, tomatoes, cucumber, scallions, feta and olives together in a medium bowl. Drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice, and garlic if desired. Toss again, then season to taste with salt and pepper. I like this best served room-temperature or slightly chilled.

Leave a Reply

