Skip to content

Thai Steak Salad

February 13, 2013

by Elizabeth

IMG_9804

Since the husband isn’t really into Asian food, I usually reserve my Asian recipes for lunch. Which really works out for the best since I think salads are much easier to recreate at home than curries, fried rice, or stir fry. (I’ve tried all three and the wok and I are just not meant to be friends…I think I can’t get it hot enough.) While this salad doesn’t cure my crazy sushi cravings, it does help ease my weekday lunch boredom.

Thai Steak Salad, adapted from Camille Styles

serves 3*

1/2 lb flank steak

Sesame Ginger Marinade (I used Archer Farms Ginger Orange from Target)

4 cups mixed chopped cabbage and spinach (or arugula)

4 scallions, minced

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1 cup chopped snow peas

1/2 cup chopped basil

1/2 cup chopped mint

1 small avocado, chopped

1/2 cup peanuts

1 mango, if available (I couldn’t find one this time of year, but it would be delicious)

Dressing:

3 tablespoons lime juice

zest of 1 lime

1 tablespoon Asian fish sauce

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon agave or honey

1 tiny thai chili pepper, thinly sliced (be careful here, a 1/2 teaspoon of minced jalapeño might be milder, or leave it out altogether if you’re not big on spice)

Marinate steak for 2 hours. Grill or cook in a cast iron skillet for about 4 minutes per side. Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix all other ingredients for salad in a large bowl. Whisk together ingredients for dressing in a small bowl, then add to salad. Thinly slice steak against the grain, then chop into bite size pieces. Add to salad, and toss well to dress.

*You could also add 4-8 ounces of noodles and extend this to 4 servings. Vermicelli or Linguini would be nice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2013 6:20 pm

    gorgeous salad – simple, but extremely effective.

  2. February 19, 2013 6:41 pm

    This looks delicious! I love Thai and suffer from husband Thai aversion as well. Maybe I can trick him into just the steak and I can have it as a salad…

Leave a Reply

