Skip to content

Marinated Olives

November 29, 2012

by Elizabeth

File this one under “easiest party trick, ever.” Seriously, no exaggeration. This year I was asked to bring an appetizer to Thanksgiving in addition to my standard cranberry jelly. I was pumped because trying out new appetizers is pretty much my favorite thing. (and I love finding ways to sneak cheese into the Thanksgiving meal!) But, sigh , work a ten-hour conference call happened, and I didn’t get home until 9 pm the night before. My fancy appetizer quickly morphed into “throw some goat cheese and boursin and crostini on a plate.” Luckily I did have some olives, and remembered this recipe I’d made once years before. I always have the ingredients on hand, and it literally takes less than 5 minutes to throw everything together in a bowl. Flaired my ho-hum cheese board right up!

Marinated Olives, adapted from Williams-Sonoma Florence

2 cups mixed green and black olives, pitted

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

zest of half a lemon

pinch of red pepper (1/2 teaspoon or so)

2 tablespoons chopped parsley

1/4 cup olive oil

Mix everything together in a bowl. Let it sit for at least 2 hours, or up to a few days. Boom, you’re done.

Serve at room temperature.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2012 12:42 pm

    Those look great – I totally adore olives! Actually, I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while, but haven’t really got round to it! I must 😀

  2. November 30, 2012 11:01 am

    totally worth the five minute investment!

Leave a comment