Skip to content

Cocktail Hour: The Grapefruit Gimlet

August 7, 2012

by Emily

Earlier this summer, I found a really great vintage bar cart that I just had to have. I schlepped it on the subway, made space in my petite studio, and have slowly been collecting bar cart wares over the last several weeks. While I still lack the proper cocktail tools per se, I do have some vintage chic coupe glassware and plenty of liquor, so this past Friday I decided it was cocktail hour à ma petite maison. Although the directions for this recipe are quite simple, I have to say I was very impressed with my maiden grapefruit gimlet cocktail. Chilled to perfection and with the perfect zip, I will certainly be making more of these treats. $16 New York cocktails? Please. Let’s D-I-Y this.

Grapefruit Gimlet
proportions found here

2 parts Gin or Vodka (for Vodka, I prefer Tito’s)
1 part St-Germain
1/2-1 part Grapefruit, depending on your preference
dash of Grapefruit bitters

Pour all ingredients into an ice-filled shaker and shake well. Strain into a coupe or Martini glass. Garnish with a grapefruit wedge or twist.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. KKP permalink
    August 7, 2012 2:54 pm

    I need one of these right about now. Impromptu gimlet party, please?

  2. August 7, 2012 3:24 pm

    We will have our people call your people, STAT.

Trackbacks

  1. Pan Fried Potatoes with Lemon & Jalapeno « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

