Skip to content

Charleston Charm – Ironworks

July 11, 2012

by Elizabeth

As I mentioned, husband and I went back to Charleston in June with his family. Armed with my newish fancy camera, I led us on the Gateway Walk through several graveyards, gardens, churches and secret-looking passageways. I am pretty sure I drove everyone crazy snapping away at every beautiful thing I saw (at one point husband asked me if we were going to stop every 3 feet to take pictures), but the ironworks scattered everywhere really captured my detail-obsessed attention.

We passed over this grate on Queen Street nearly every day. It’s quite possibly the most perfect sidewalk grate in existence. Seriously, there are ferns growing through quatrefoil, can it get any better? Here is a close up just because it’s that good.

Arch above 82 Queen. I tried their She Crab Soup for the first time, and went to soup heaven.

The darling house with the anchor is  known as the Pirate’s house. There was even a passage that went from this house to the harbor. Pirates had good taste in shutters apparently. We also learned that if a house has iron trim around the windows that looks like rope, it was likely a ship captain who built it. Some even had sailors knots fashioned into the iron.

This house on Queen Street had British flags everywhere, but I also love the dainty gate.

Swirls and a cute blue and white address tile. Charleston features both wrought iron (from the 1700s and 1800s) and cast iron. I can’t tell the difference, and our carriage driver told us the city is known for one more than the other, and now I’ve confused myself trying to figure it out. If you know, please leave a comment!

My very favorite gold necklace that I wear all the time has similar symbols. The necklace has the petroglyph symbol found all over St. John island, and I can’t help but wonder if the symbol made it up to Charleston on a trade ship from the Caribbean.

I love this combination of fleur-de-lys, diamonds, some type of quatrefoil and arches. Such a chic graveyard fence. Pretty sure you can only say that in Charleston. If we ever build a dream home with a courtyard, you better believe the most fabulous iron gate ever is going live there with me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    January 16, 2013 1:03 pm

    If you are talking about what wrought-iron gate was known more than the other it would be the heart gate and it was made by Phillip Simmons, the son of a slave who became famous for the 600+ gates and balconies, etc he created throughout Charleston. He died several years ago but only after his work became displayed in an exhibit in the Smithsonian.

Leave a Reply

