Skip to content

Charbroiled Oysters – Drago’s Style

June 6, 2012

by Elizabeth

Before I understood the love affair with oysters on the halfshell, I would only eat them like this – charbroiled. Preferably in New Orleans, at Arnaud’s, where you can have broiled with a multitude of toppings. But I’ve been told that Drago’s in New Orleans is really the best place for charbroiled oysters, and after husbands recent first-hand experience with them I decided I needed to try those too. Aside from the shucking, these really are easy to throw together and heat up on the grill. I was told these were almost as good as Drago’s, which is good enough for me when we’re stuck in Dallas. My only problem was that we didn’t have more!

Charbroiled Oysters, adapted from Drago’s

8 ounces (2 sticks) softened butter
2 tablespoons finely chopped garlic
1 teaspoon black pepper
Pinch dried oregano
Big dash of Cajun Seasoning, we used Cormier’s
1 1/2 dozen large, freshly shucked oysters on the half shell
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 teaspoons chopped flat-leaf parsley

Heat a gas or charcoal grill. In a medium bowl, mix softened butter with garlic, pepper, Cajun seasoning and oregano.

Shuck oysters. I placed the oysters in my mesh grill pan. Spoon about a tablespoon of butter on top of each oyster.

Place oysters on the half shell right over the hottest part of the grill. It’s ok if the butter melts and flares up the fire, it will make them better.

The oysters are ready when they puff up and get curly on the sides, about 4-5 minutes. Sprinkle the grated Parmesan and the parsley on top and let them cook for 30-60 seconds more to melt the cheese. Serve on the shells immediately with hot French bread.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 2:07 pm

    Those are gorgeous. I’ve never tried an oyster – though I would like to. Perhaps I shall endeavour to do so this summer.

Leave a Reply

