Skip to content

Artichoke Crusted Chicken

May 21, 2012

by Elizabeth

This is a “I really need to get some recent revelations off my chest” post, disguised as a “delicious recipe for non-boring chicken breasts” post. Delicious recipe for Artichoke Crusted Chicken below if you want to skip my rambling.

1. Pinterest can be infuriating. Apparently Sarah posted this recipe on her Pinterest page, but I didn’t see it. Now most of your probably think this isn’t a big deal, but I am an obsessive Pinterest checker. Like, I need to see every.single.thing. my friends pin, or I feel like I am missing out and my nosy soul might shrivel up and die. Also, I am actually very selective about who I follow on Pinterest because I don’t want my feed junked up with weird hairstyles or babies in costumes or red and black bridesmaid dresses – so I really do want to see everything my choice few pin. So Pinterest – whatever you’re doing in your weird computer programming world to only let certain pins show up on my feed, STOP IT. My friends have this problem too so I know I’m not the only one.

2. Which brings me to my next obvious realization. The importance of seeing your girlfriends in real life can not be underestimated. Checking up on them via gchat, facebook, texting, or pinterest (clearly pinterest), does not sustain a relationship forever. I laughed more last weekend with Sarah and Christina than I had in months. Much needed. Also, when you see your girlfriends in real life you talk about things like the aforementioned missing from Pinterest chicken recipe. You know, really important life changing issues.

3. We also talked a lot about Greek yogurt (I promise we’re actually fun people). I only became a Greek yogurt convert about six months ago. It always gewwed me out because I could never understand how the same yogurt could work for breakfast and as a mayo/sour cream replacement. The idea of eating a bowl of sour cream with blackberries in it really didn’t sit well with me. But I finally gave in and tried it, and I swear it’s a miracle food. It has tons (literally) of protein, no fat, low sugar, and no mystery ingredients (I eat Fage Plain 0%). In the morning I sweeten it up with fresh berries, a little honey and some low-sugar granola, and then for “real” meals I use it as a replacement for mayo or sour cream in certain foods (salad dressings, sauces, etc). Also, it makes tzatziki which is delicious on pretty much everything. I swapped it for mayo in the original recipe for this Artichoke Crusted Chicken, and I got fewer calories and extra protein with no taste difference. Win, win, win.

Artichoke Crusted Chicken, via SugarLaws

Serves 2

2 6-ounce chicken breasts, pounded flat to even thickness (1/2 inch or less)

Salt and pepper

Garlic powder

Paprika

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (or mayo)

1/4 cup chopped artichoke hearts (canned or frozen)

1/3 cup grated white cheddar cheese

1 green onion, minced

dash of cayenne pepper

dash of paprika

salt and pepper

Pound your chicken between two pieces of plastic wrap (prevents splatters). Sprinkle lightly on both sides with salt, pepper, garlic powder and paprika. Heat oil in a large cast iron skillet (or other oven-proof skillet). When hot but not yet smoking, place chicken breasts in skillet. Cook for about 5 minutes on each side, until cooked through but not overdone.

Meanwhile, mix remaining ingredients in a small bowl. When chicken is cooked, spoon mixture on top of each chicken breast. Place skillet under the broiler on high for 3 minutes. Watch carefully! Your broiler might take less time. Remove when the crust is lightly browned and melted.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Weatherford permalink
    May 21, 2012 11:51 am

    Should we begin a protest against awkward feed content? I’m pretty sure Facebook is confused about who my real friends are, too. So very happy you found the Artichoke Chicken pin and I’m happy to know there is a healthier recipe option that I will likely never try due to my obsession with the mayo/cheese/artichoke combo! Well done Liz… let’s giggle this weekend, in person!

  2. May 21, 2012 1:53 pm

    a giant HEYO on all accounts!

  3. Christina permalink
    May 21, 2012 5:15 pm

    Hey-o!! This weekend was fun lets plan our LA girls weekend stat. I am making this soon looks so yummy!!

    Ps add 2 Splenda and a tsp of vanila to Greek yogurt with berries it will make it seem less sour creamy…ewww

    Also I’m on a quest for a chicken salad with Greek yogurt recipe since I am mayo adverse…I’ll let you know when I find it!

  4. June 28, 2012 2:48 pm

    OK, I am trying this too! Saving to my recipe bookmarks.

    I agree about pinterest – it can be so good, but it can be so bad.

  5. Araceli Hnot permalink
    February 19, 2013 9:18 am

    Artichoke is just about the most ancient green vegetables harvested for medical related variables. Throughout time it has been used as treatments for quite a few illnesses for example blood disorders, joint pain, kidney troubles, snakebites in addition to edema. During the olden days of Rome and Greek, the globe artichoke was used as an aphrodisiac regarding sexual well-being and consequently, occasionally set aside just for men to eat. During these times it was in addition thought to be a helpful benefit to the digestive system and it was only for the privileged elite..

    Our own blog page
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/dhea-benefits/

Leave a Reply

