Skip to content

Lime Shrimp Tacos

April 30, 2012

by Elizabeth

I finally conquered one of life’s greatest challenges – cooking a delicious, interesting, somewhat healthy, actual meal for dinner in under twenty minutes. I don’t know about you, but even for someone who loves to cook, it is just downright hard to get dinner on the table at a decent hour sometimes. I try to meal plan and shop on Sundays, plan ahead for days I know I’ll be home late, always cook for 4 so we have an abundance of leftovers in the freezer, keep pantry staples on hand so I can throw something together as quickly as possible, blah blah blah. But post work, commute, workout, errands, etc., sometimes I just want to give in and order a dumb pizza or microwave some Stouffer’s macaroni and cheese. Thankfully, dinners like this can save you from the cardboard box.

Now I admit to some meal planning on this one – I did purchase the shrimp with full intentions of making some sort of lime shrimp with my new BR Cohn Lime Olive Oil. But really, shrimp is one of those things I like to keep on hand. It freezes just fine, defrosts quickly in warm water, and cooks in about 4 minutes. Which makes it a pretty perfect protein for throwing together dinner.

Lime Shrimp Tacos

1/2 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined
2-3 tablespoons lime olive oil (alternately use regular olive oil and add 1 teaspoon lime zest to your dish)
juice of 2 small limes
dash of cayenne pepper – maybe 1/8 teaspoon, more if you like things spicy
sprinkling of kosher salt – maybe 1/4 teaspoon
1 tablespoon oil
1 sweet onion, such as 1015, sliced
1 avocado, sliced
corn tortillas

Heat plain oil on a grill pan or in a cast iron skillet until hot but not smoking. Add onions and cook until soft and charred in spots, tossing regularly. This may take ten minutes or so, depending on how dark you like them. Set aside when done.

Meanwhile, place shrimp in a baking dish. Drizzle with lime olive oil, lime juice, cayenne, and salt. Toss to combine. Place under broiler for 2 minutes, then flip shrimp and broil for another 2 minutes. My broiler is not very hot, so I did this on High, but kept an eye on it to ensure the shrimp didn’t overcook. Remove from oven.

Heat tortillas either on grill or skillet for 30 seconds or so on each side. Alternately, wrap your tortillas in damp paper towels and microwave for 30 seconds.

In each tortilla, add onions, avocado slices, and 3 shrimp. Drizzle with a little lime oil from the baking dish and serve warm.

Pink Beans

I also threw together the Pink Beans (goya brand) you see in the picture. I added 1 tablespoon of oil to a saucepan, threw in about 1/2 cup diced onions and let them soften. I then added 2 small cloves of garlic (minced) for a few minutes. Added the drained beans, about 1/4 can of water, and maybe 1/3 cup of tomato sauce. Seasoned with a teaspoon or so of kosher salt, smoked paprika and cumin, and I let it all cook down and mingle while I made the rest of dinner. I’d never had pink beans but they were a nice surprise – very tender and almost sweet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 1:06 pm

    congrats on the speedy cooking :D. I tend to take my time cooking, can’t remember how long my shortest dish takes. This sounds really delicious. Prawns and lime go so well.

Leave a Reply

