Skip to content

Surf’s Up

April 3, 2012

by Emily

We rarely stray too far from our passion for maison interiors on this blog, but when inspiration knocks, we tend to answer. Especially when it involves the beach. While we’ve hardly made it past spring break, I fully confess that I cannot stop thinking about a summer vacation. And when I say vacation, I really mean a few special vacation days and a dreamy destination. Since I will be spending my first full summer in New York, I am actually dying to get out of the city so I can explore brilliant new beachy destinations including Montauk.

I have long been a fan of beach inspired interiors – blues, yellows, corals, crisp white linens – since I find them to be cozy, welcoming, and soothing. While this popular theme probably ought to be carried out with some restraint and editing in a primary residence, I love that a beachy hotel can be just that literal and overt with their decor while never seeming over the top. Equal parts surf lodge and beach retreat, two spots out in Montauk I am especially dying to check out as soon as summer are Ruschmeyer’s and The Surf Lodge.

Ruschmeyers – don’t you just love the rustic, lodge-like effect in the common spaces paired with the clean white rooms? Those mood-setting lanterns get me every time.

The Surf Lodge – between the driftwood and reclaimed planks in the bar, yellow/peacock-blue/coral/aqua pops of color, and natural outdoor lanterns, I think they have beach chic ambience covered.

These two hotels are perfectly designed as casual city escapes and I hope these two destinations serve as great inspiration regardless of where you call home!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

