Skip to content

Easter Cake

April 2, 2012

by Elizabeth

Every year when I was growing up, my Granny made me an Easter Cake. I don’t actually remember if she hosted Easter brunch or dinner, but I definitely remember the cake. And eating pieces of it off the cake stand for the rest of the week. (Does anyone else think leftover cake is even better?) Last year I got brave with my baking and made my own lemon cake with Easter Egg Nest toppings. Now, I’m not going to give you a recipe for the actual cake – I’m only focused on decorations around here. You can use your favorite recipe for a round cake, or use a box mix for all I care (I’ll probably do the same next time). Some might think this cake is kitschy or old-fashioned, but I’m ok with that. I prefer to think of it as charming.

Easter Egg Cake

1 baked and cooled 9 in cake, however many layers you prefer
White icing, enough to cover the cake well.
Shredded sweetened coconut
Green food coloring
Jelly Beans

Place your cake on a cake stand or serving platter. Ice your cake. If you know how to ice things, this is much cuter if you use the basket weave icing tip and make the cake look like a basket. I bought the icing tools, took one look at it out of the box and gave up. It’s the thought that counts.

Place about a cup of coconut in a bowl. Drizzle in a few drops of green food coloring and mix together with a fork. You don’t want it to be too dark, I prefer spring green.

Mound most of the coconut in the center of the cake, forming a nest. Sprinkle a little more around the edges. Place the jelly beans in the center, et voila – Easter egg nest cake!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2012 1:20 pm

    That looks so delicious and wonderful appropriate 😀

Trackbacks

  1. The Friday Find: Happy Easter! | Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

