Skip to content

Container Gardens

March 14, 2012

by Elizabeth

Don’t these flowers just make you so excited for spring? I’m loving the combination – snapdragons, tulips, and johnny-jump-ups in breathtaking colors. I’m still working on developing my green thumb, but I’ve noticed it’s much more likely for me to keep things alive in pots rather than in the ground. Maybe it’s easier to keep the plants watered and happy, or maybe it’s because the weed-eater doesn’t accidentally get them, but regardless I love having pots of flowers around the patio. I’ve even ordered a book on growing vegetables, Homegrown, to see if I can learn how to keep a tomato plant and some basil alive this summer. I’ll let you know how that goes…in the meantime, here are some of my favorite container gardens to inspire you to plant your own!

Above images from March 2012 issue of Southern Living. I’m not a regular SL reader, but this issue killed it – there are also turquoise front doors and a the most darling luncheon you ever did see.

  Southern Living Container Gardens

There is nothing I love more on a house than full, gorgeous window boxes. I’m not sure they’re practical during a Texas summer, but I adore them. They remind me of Charleston.

Southern Living Window Box Guide

Better Homes & Gardens nicely labels their container garden plants. I’m liking then mix of greens with pops of color here.

Better Homes & Gardens Urn

Something like this would be perfect for my front porch – designed for shady areas.

Better Homes & Gardens Shade Planter

This pot of succulents might be even better for our Texas heat. I love the large scale.

Succulents

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Meagher permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:58 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration. I an effort to pretend to be domestic I signed up for a “Potting Class” at Brookhaven next week. HA! Wish me luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Greek Yogurt Lime Cake « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

