Skip to content

Beantown Treats

February 23, 2012

by Emily

Now that I am an east coaster, I had the pleasure of taking a weekend trip up the coast recently to visit a sweet friend in Boston. A quick trip from New York City, I had a great mini getaway weekend exploring this historic city and enjoying Boston’s smaller scale and charming neighborhood feel. Because my life revolves around food and interiors (the essentials), I have to share a few of my favorite finds (including my interpretation of a salad I had for lunch) over the weekend:

1.  Hudson

Located in Boston’s darling South End neighborhood, Hudson has a terrific assortment of home furnishings, vintage finds, lighting, textiles, and accessories. Their space was perfectly styled and may look a little familiar. As you can see from the “sticker” above, their very own Jill Goldberg is featured in February’s (yellow cover) House Beautiful! The store is great and worth popping by next time you are in the area.

2. South End Buttery

We are going to pretend that we weren’t lured in by a case full of cupcakes, but then that’d be a total lie. PS, they were delish. And so was their brunch! Part bake shop and part cafe, The Buttery is very popular for a good reason. My suggestion is to go for brunch, split a scone to start, and a cupcake to finish (why not?), and don’t look back. Apart from their delicious menu, I was smitten with their interior as well.  Not shocking, Hudson is just around the corner.  The above Instagram photo I took is the tiniest of sampling of the great space and does the cute restaurant a serious injustice. I think you should stop by.

3.  And finally…a recipe!

So, apparently my memory is pretty worthless because while I thought I was recreating a salad I had for lunch at The Met in the Back Bay neighborhood, I inadvertently took some creative liberties. Regardless, it is delicious and something you should try (and alter as you wish!).

Back Bay Salad with Apple Cider Vinaigrette

For the Salad:

1 bunch escarole, chopped
1 bunch spinach
1 endive, chopped
1 fennel bulb, chopped
1/4 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1 medium apple, chopped
1/4 cup dates, quartered
1/4 cup walnuts, quartered and toasted
Apple cider vinaigrette (recipe follows)
salt and pepper, to taste

Combine escarole and spinach in a medium bowl.  Top with all other ingredients and dress with apple cider vinaigrette. Salt and pepper, to taste.

For the Vinaigrette:

1 cup apple cider
2 tablespoons cider vinegar
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt

Whisk ingredients together in a small bowl. Toss in salad.
Store in an airtight container. Shake before each use.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

