Skip to content

Magnolias Crab Dip

January 9, 2012

by Elizabeth

So my Charleston obsession lives on. I bought the Magnolias cookbook after our delicious dinner there, but sadly I haven’t actually cooked much from it until now. My mother-in-law typically serves shrimp jambalaya for our Christmas night dinner (which is such a fun tradition for us), so this year I stuck with the southern seafood theme and brought Magnolias’ crab dip to snack on. My in-laws also very generously gave us a much-upgraded new camera, so lucky for the crab dip, it got to be my very first blog subject!

Magnolias Crab Dip, adapted from Magnolias: Authentic Southern Cuisine

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup finely minced yellow onion
1 tablespoon finely minced garlic
1 tablespoon milk (I used 2%)
2 tablespoons non-fat, plain Greek yogurt
8 ounces cream cheese
8 ounces lump crabmeat
1 teaspoon chopped parsley
1 teaspoon chopped chives
1/2 teaspoon each kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Paprika, for sprinkling

Heat oil in a medium skillet or dutch oven over medium heat. Add onions and cook for 3 minutes, but do not let them brown. Add garlic and cook for 2 more minutes. Stir in milk, greek yogurt, and cream cheese, whisking until the cheese is melted. Add herbs, salt, pepper and cayenne. Gently fold in crab meat, and transfer to a serving dish. Sprinkle with paprika and serve immediately with baguette slices or toasts.

Alternately, you can make the dip in advance, without folding in the crab meat, and refrigerate. When you are ready to serve, mix in the crab, then bake at 350˙ for 15 minutes, until heated through. Sprinkle with paprika and serve.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 1:14 pm

    That dip looks absolutely wonderful and I love the recipe!

  2. January 9, 2012 3:15 pm

    I saw the first picture and before I read, I thought to myself – she got a new camera! Amazing shots! And that crab dip looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

