Skip to content

Front Door Swag

December 14, 2011

by Elizabeth

I’ve been pinning holiday decor like a mad woman since October, and I realized last week that I had yet to actually use any of my fabulous pins as inspiration for my real life decor. (Sometimes I like to pretend I just live in my Pinterest page, then I forget that my house doesn’t really look like my dreams…) Since the wreath we’ve used for the past several years got left in the attic during the massive decoration installation, I decided to do something different this year and copy the swag above found on Pinterest.

excuse the bad lighting - I'm never actually home during daylight anymore...

Voila! I’m actually very pleased with how it turned out, and it was super easy. (I don’t DIY unless it’s something a child could do.) I simply purchased a pre-made swag at Home Depot and removed the terrible “weather-proof” red ribbon. If you can’t find a pre-made swag at your local nursery, I would simply gather together varying types and lengths of greenery, and wire together at the top. Mine has two types of pine and boxwood, with the longer thicker pieces at the back, and the shorter pieces layered in the front. Mistletoe would also be a cute addition.

Next, get yourself some pretty ribbon and holiday doodles to insert. My swag actually came with the pinecones already attached, but I would definitely recommend adding those regardless. Target, Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, etc should all have a plethora of pinecones this time of year, some even have gold accents (love). I also got some gold glittered leaves on a wire stick and a gold ornament. My ornament was rather large, I’d use several smaller ones if you’re going that route. I attached everything with florist wire (you can loop through the top of the ornaments or carefully weave through the pinecones) and wired it around the top of the swag. Next I made a fairly large bow, I recommend using wired ribbon so it holds its shape outside. Wire this on as well and zshush it up so everything is nice and pretty (and secured!). Hang on your door either on a nail or wire to a wreath hanger, then try to take a picture before 10 pm.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

