Skip to content

new york pied-à-terre

August 18, 2011

by Emily

I spent the better part of last week “getting settled” in my new, petite home in New York. And by getting settled, I mean digging my way out of boxes, organizing like a crazy person, and styling my wee space away. And whoa, Nelly, it has come a loooong way and is now in ship-shape to share with you.

Entry

 
When I hunted for apartments, I knew it would be important to be aware of the space and how I could best utilize it. I spent a great deal of time strategically space planning and contemplating what I could bring.
 

Entry Detail

 
Although I did decide to purchase the entry table above with very little debate, I made the most of everything I currently have.  I knew I needed to be thoughtful and realistic about what I need and what would actually fit. I am glad I remembered to leave room to grow as I love new treasures and will surely find them here.
 

Bed & Side Tables

 
I re-organized pillows, used my living room glass-top table as a decorative bedside table, pulled my Safavieh medallion rug from my dining room, and brought a little Texas to New York by using deer sheds as curtain tie-backs. So Antler Chic!
 

Sitting Area & Pouf

 
Just like House Beautiful alluded to in their popular space issue I mentioned before, I knew I would have to give on a few things and balance the reality of the space… but not without sacrificing style. Or my pouf. We all know I love my pouf.
 

Side Table & Pouf

 
My goal was to bring my favorite things and style them just right for the perfectly decorated space. While I certainly could not bring all of my darling doodles, it did feel freeing to edit my things and to make more specific and meaningful selections.
 

Sitting Area

 
I knew lighting and the use of mirrors to “create space” would be important in my petite home. I also prioritized creating several seating options anticipating that hosting guests in my home, albeit my small home, would still be extremely important to me.
 

Kitchen

 
I loved this particular apartment because the ceilings are 10+ feet tall, there is (shockingly!) tons of closet space, there are three windows in the living area and another in the bathroom, and… the kitchen is actually functional! No thank you, hot plate and mini fridge… I have some cooking to do.
 

Kitchen Doodles

 
While an apartment is never truly complete and there is such more I’d like to do, my new home is not only cozy and cute, but functional and filled with things that are meaningful to me.
 

Bathroom

 So, welcome to my New York pied-à-terre! Please visit soon!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    August 18, 2011 1:24 pm

    Wow, you did such a great job! Your place is adorable! 🙂

  2. Sarah permalink
    August 18, 2011 1:31 pm

    Beautiful! I like those matches 🙂

    • August 18, 2011 1:51 pm

      Megan made sure I got some – we were loving them 🙂 thanks for the compliment!

  3. Lauren Mills permalink
    August 18, 2011 7:11 pm

    LOVE it!!

  4. August 19, 2011 12:35 pm

    Beautiful! Can’t wait to hear all about your fun NY adventures! Best wishes!!

  5. Kathryn permalink
    August 23, 2011 3:20 pm

    Oh my goodness, I love it! Well done, my friend.

  6. August 23, 2011 5:12 pm

    Merci, merci! It is ready for visitors 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Truffled Red Wine Risotto « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

