Skip to content

Creamy Dreamy Eggs with Sweet and Spicy Bacon

July 20, 2011

by Emily

While I have every right to be losing sleep a little anxious over this whole move to New York thing, I am admittedly getting nervous about all the wrong things. Such as, ahhhhemmm, the obvious question of how am I ever going to entertain in 300 square feet?? Am I being ridiculous? Shouldn’t I be worried about making friends, doing well in school, and finding a job instead? Yep, I gotta big buncha problems… sheesh!

This little bout of nervousness did prompt me to have a few friends over for a last minute brunch the other weekend. Since my movers are coming today (yikes!), I am so glad I did since I will soon be out a kitchen and possibly the inspiration to scrape together one more gathering. I have, however, confirmed with multiple sources that I will indeed be able to check my knives on the airplane, so I may be surprising you…

Regardless! It was fun and I made two recipes in particular that should be included at your next impromptu brunch gathering. They are easy, flavorful, and allow you, as hostess, to transfer your energy to entertaining your guests, rather than hovering over the stove top or constantly checking the oven.

Creamy Scrambled Eggs with Herbs
Epicurious

6 eggs
4 ounces light cream cheese, diced
1/4 cup chopped green onions
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil or 2 teaspoons dried, crumbled
2 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano or 1/2 teaspoon dried, crumbled
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter

Beat eggs in large bowl to blend. Beat in next 6 ingredients. Season with salt and pepper. Melt butter in heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Add egg mixture and stir until eggs are scrambled, about 4 minutes. Serve immediately.

Sweet and Spicy Bacon
Epicurious

1 1/2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 lb thick-cut bacon (12 slices)

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine brown sugar, cayenne, and black pepper in a small bowl.

Arrange bacon slices in l layer on a large broiler pan or baking sheet lined with parchment papet. Bake in middle of oven for 20 minutes. Turn slices over and sprinkle evenly with spiced sugar mixture. Continue baking until bacon is crisp and brown, 15 to 20 minutes more, then transfer to paper towels to drain.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 10:08 am

    That bacon looks divine. Nothing quite like crispy bacon. Oh, and I like your name for the eggs!

  2. Lauren Mills permalink
    July 20, 2011 5:29 pm

    I’m so glad you posted these recipes. Both dishes were amazing and I can’t wait to recreate!

Trackbacks

  1. Pan Fried Potatoes with Lemon & Jalapeno « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

