Skip to content

Tiny: The Next Big Thing

July 7, 2011

by Emily

House Beautiful

I couldn’t have asked for better timing with House Beautiful’s most recent issue so cleverly titled “Living Large in Small Spaces”. The magazine celebrates the wise yet stylish use of space, no matter how devilishly small. The common theme? You can not only make just about anything work, but you can do so with purpose, quality, and personal meaning.

Lonny

 

You see, House Beautiful could not have timed their inspiring issue with any more accuracy since I am in the process of swapping my maison in Houston for my own pied-à-terre in New York! While my new, “charming” home will be 1/4 the size of a true maison, I am determined to make it function without sacrificing so many of the things I love and make my life so comfy.

Pinterest

While currently a far stretch from our “real jobs”, Elizabeth and I very clearly adore all things happening on this blog. We have a strong affinity for interior design and decorating, love entertaining by way of wine and cheese cooking, and have an uncanny knack for doodling.  I am so thankful for this collaboration, because it has not only created a strong co-blogger bond, but it has most certainly opened my eyes to where my true interests (dare I say passions?!) lie.

Jonathan Adler's Apartment

The goal of this move is to work a few steps closer to following my heart and not my head and chase a long time dream of calling Interior Design my “real job”. With encouragement of a couple of wonderful girlfriends, lots of industry opinions, and that ache for change in the right direction, I am beginning an Interior Design program at Parsons the New School tor Design this fall. I am thrilled with this opportunity and the positive change ahead. While admittedly nervous, my gut says GO!  So, here we go!

Pinterest

With the move and transition on the forefront of my mind, you can look forward to many a post focusing on executing small spaces with style, especially my own. As a warning, don’t fool yourself because I WILL indeed be able to sense your jealously for my full 300 square feet space through these crazy interwebs. That’s right, 300. Bam.

Lonny

So Momofuku, it’s been real. L’Express? I wish I could have a lovely snack with you every day, but I’ve got some strategic design work to do!

Bon Jour, New York!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily R. permalink
    July 8, 2011 6:49 am

    CONGRATS Emily! That is huge! Best of luck.

  2. Katie permalink
    July 8, 2011 12:12 pm

    Fabulous post and perfect way to break the news about your exciting move!! Hopefully, the 300 square feet space will accomodate me and my luggage for a weekend in the fall!

    • July 8, 2011 1:43 pm

      There is always room for a dear friend! BTW, first bag’s free, $25 for each additional 😉

  3. Cat permalink
    July 8, 2011 11:05 pm

    Happy to read this post 🙂 I’m so proud of you and know that you are going to ROCK Parsons and NYC!! xo

  4. Lauren Mills permalink
    July 11, 2011 12:13 pm

    Sad but exciting! Looking forward to some NYC posts 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. new york pied-à-terre « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

