Skip to content

Eggplant Chevre Gratin

June 27, 2011

by Emily

Last time I traveled to New York, I popped in L’express just as my legs were wearing out, my tummy was growling, and – sigh – the Eataly market was just a touch too crowded for me.  I had indulged in my, ahem, third peanut butter double toasted bagel at this point in the trip and I thought it might be a little aggressive of me to order a cheese plate for just myself (besides, that’s what co-bloggers are for!) so I opted for the most terrific of snacks: The Fresh Chevre Terrine Gratin.  Translation?  A stack of very thinly sliced roasted eggplant separated by chevre medallions topped with bread crumbs and lightly drizzled with a flavorful tomato vinaigrette.  Served warm.  Mmmmm.

With this trip and delicious snack fresh on my mind, I was determined to recreate a version of my own.  Because that’s what this blog is about, right?  Well, it wasn’t too difficult considering I (usually) have all of the key ingredients for this wee indulgence on hand…less thinly slicing knife skills.  So instead, I made miniature gratins using my French blue Le Creuset ramekins and heavy slicing hand.  The result? A really nice substitute.  Now, if only my dining room had the same ambiance!

Eggplant Chevre Gratin
inspired by L’express
yields 4 individual side dishes

1 eggplant, sliced thin
4 ounces chevre (goat cheese), cut into 8 thin medallions
1 small tomato, finely chopped
1/4 cup bread crumbs (I used Panko)
2 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan
Olive Oil
Vinegar
Salt and Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 F.  In a grill plan, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat.  Add eggplant slices and grill 6-8 minutes, flipping half way through.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together tomato, olive oil, vinegar, and salt and pepper to form a simple vinaigrette.  Set aside.

In four ramekins (or one small baking dish), add one layer of eggplant.  Add a chevre medallion to each ramekin and then another thin layer of eggplant.  Add one more chevre medallion and then spoon 1/4 of the tomato vinaigrette into each ramekin.  Sprinkle bread crumbs and freshly grated Parmesan onto each serving.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Tops will be golden brown.

Leave a Reply

