Skip to content

Peanut Butter & Bacon Cookies

May 24, 2011

by Emily

I am not one to say no to peanut butter.  While admittedly a touch embarrassing, PB is indeed my favorite food (and you thought it was cheese, didn’t you?!) and I often over-indulge in its smooth, creamy, nutty, or even natural decadence.

When my friend Mary and I set out on little decorating date the other night at her maison, I was thrilled when it turned into a full-on bloggish par-tay complete with baking this new recipe.  Why, hello.

Mary’s two uber talented girlfriends, the Blue Eyed Bakers, posted this treat on their blog and while it may seem a little odd to fold bacon into your cookie dough, let me just tell you, I think yes!

The bacon, sugar, and peanut butter combination was the perfect sweet-salty can-I-have-another treat!

Peanut Butter & Bacon Cookies
Adapted from Gourmet & Joy the Baker via Blue Eyed Bakers

1 cup natural peanut butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
6 slices of bacon

Cook bacon, cool and dice.  Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a mixer, blend peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar until well combined, 1-2 minutes.  Add in the egg and baking soda and continue to mix for another few minutes.  Add in the diced bacon and mix to incorporate.

Sprinkle some sugar on a plate, roll dough into 1 1/2 inch balls and drop into the sugar, rolling to coat.  Place cookies onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Gently press down cookies using the tines of a fork.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, until very lightly browned.  Cool cookies completely on a baking sheet.  Store at room temperature.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 1:27 pm

    It sounds so wrong that it could actually be right! 😉

  2. May 24, 2011 6:54 pm

    They look so yummy! I agree, so wrong they are right! PS: I think I have those are my plates! : )

  3. May 25, 2011 6:48 am

    You and my friend Mary have such wonderful taste – gorgeous plates! Perfect for a blog phot0 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Cauliflower Risotto with Brie & Almonds « Deux Maisons
  2. Peanut Butter Bacon Crostini « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

