Skip to content

Cauliflower Soup with Pecorino and Truffle Oil

January 25, 2011

by Elizabeth

I’m sure to anyone who lives north of Texas this sounds utterly ridiculous, but I’m sick of the stupid cold. I am 100% ready for warmth and sunshine and sandals. I can feign excitement about winter and boots and scarves and fires and warm pots of comfort foods until approximately New Year’s Day, but after the fun of the Holidays passes I’m O.V.E.R. it. Totally over it. I think the only thing that is going to keep me sane until March is soup. (Oh, and dreaming about going on a second honeymoon, but soup is slightly more realistic.)

Emily and I had cauliflower soup drizzled with truffle oil at Bolsa over Labor Day Weekend, you know, back when we could wear sleeveless tops and sit on patios all night, and it was lovely, although slightly out of season. But the soup was elegant and light and the thought of it has stuck with me for all these months. Last week when I found a nearly-forgotten head of cauliflower in the fridge and realized that soup for lunch just might save me from my self-diagnosed seasonal affective disorder, it finally seemed like the right time to make my own.

Cauliflower Soup with Pecorino and Truffle Oil, adapted from Bon Appétit

serves 4

2 ounces applewood-smoked bacon (about 3 slices), chopped
1 cup chopped onion
3/4 cup chopped celery
2 garlic cloves, chopped
6 cups 1-inch pieces cauliflower (cut from 1 large head)
3 1/2 cups low-salt chicken broth
1-inch cube Pecorino Romano cheese plus additional grated cheese for serving
Parmesan Rind (optional)
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream or half & half
Salt and black pepper
2 tablespoons minced chives
White truffle oil (for drizzling)

Fry the bacon in a large soup pot or dutch oven over medium heat until golden brown. Add the onions, celery, and garlic and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the cauliflower, broth, cheese cube, and a Parmesan rind (if you have it) to the pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cover. Let the soup simmer for 20 minutes, until cauliflower is tender. Puree the soup using an immersion blender, or in batches in a regular blender. Be sure to get the soup really smooth. Return to the pot, add the cream and bring back up to a simmer. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

To serve, ladle into bowls and top each with about a teaspoon of truffle oil, 1/2 tablespoon of chives, and 1/2 tablespoon of Pecorino.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 8:41 am

    Yummy! with all the snow we have had…2-4 today!…I think I will make this to enjoy and dream about the Spring.
    Thanks for sharing a delicious looking recipe. 🙂

  2. January 26, 2011 11:26 am

    I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

