Skip to content

Ina Garten’s Chipotle & Rosemary Spiced Nuts

December 7, 2010

by Emily

If you are what you eat, I am officially a “nut”. Great. Well, whatever… I am OK with that since the same logic would deem Liz, quite obviously, CHEESY! 😉  Well, since nickname creation is not the purpose of this post, I need to back up and remind y’all that my first food love is peanut butter. And while I find this amazing creation extremely flexible, I guess you can’t exactly smear peanut butter on a salad or roll it on the outside of a cheese log, so I sometimes opt for other nuts.  I also like to force my (un)healthy obsession on others, which is why I made these.  While I was in an online recipe search vortex the other day, I spotted this incredible spiced nut recipe, sent it to Liz (who already had it bookmarked), and decided I was going to make this treat immediately.  Ina is a genius because while these are easy to make, they are complex in flavor and occupy both ends of taste bud spectrum.  I loved the sweet, maple flavor balanced with the smoky chipotle powder.  They are perfection!  Go on…make these bad boys and join the ranks of the nutty!

Ina Garten’s Chipotle & Rosemary Spiced Nuts
Barefoot Contessa: how easy is that? via The Kitchn

Vegetable oil
3 cups whole roasted unsalted cashews (14 ounces)*
2 cups whole walnut halves (7 ounces)*
2 cups whole pecan halves (7 ounces)*
1/2 cup whole almonds (3 ounces)*
*or 7 1/2 cups any nut combination of your choice (I used all pecans)
1⁄3 cup pure maple syrup
1/4 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
2 teaspoons ground chipotle powder
4 tablespoons minced fresh rosemary leaves, divided
Kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Brush a sheet pan generously with vegetable oil. Combine the cashews, walnuts, pecans, almonds, 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, the maple syrup, brown sugar, orange juice, and chipotle powder on the sheet pan. Toss to coat the nuts evenly. Add 2 tablespoons of the rosemary and 2 teaspoons of salt and toss again.

Spread the nuts in one layer. Roast the nuts for 25 minutes, stirring twice with a large metal spatula, until the nuts are glazed and golden brown. Remove from the oven and sprinkle with 2 more teaspoons of salt and the remaining 2 tablespoons of rosemary.

Toss well and set aside at room temperature, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking as they cool. Taste for seasoning. Serve warm or cool completely and store in airtight containers at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

