Skip to content

Project: Wicker Linen Hamper

October 12, 2010

by Emily

Sometimes it is necessary to have a little bit of an imagination.  Exhibit A:

I know.  Ew.  And you can’t even see the batting under that tremendous green fabric which was most certainly 100% asbestos.  You know, because that is totally fine.  So essentially, this hamper was not only disgusting, but an enormous health risk.  All I can say is thank heavens for Rustoleum spray paint, some cooler fall days made for painting this sorry excuse for furniture, staple guns, and a couple of productive trips to the fabric store.  While the green fabric is pretty incredible and was unfortunately ripped to shreds, the hamper is otherwise in great shape and a perfect, casual piece for storing linens.  So why not salvage?

Because I am still working on decorating my bedroom, I wanted to find a neutral fabric – something that had a little texture but could go easily in whatever direction I decide to take my decor.  This was especially important to me because I have been quite fickle in selecting a headboard.  I played around with some subtle animal print fabrics, but when my favorite sold out (don’t worry, I called and asked about it at least three times), I settled for a very neutral burlap.  While potentially a bit boring, I am actually incredibly pleased how the project turned out!   The burlap was not only inexpensive (can’t beat $5.95/yard), it was also easy to tug and prod and stable without trying to keep a print even.

I also love how it looks with all of my gold accent pieces… trays, bamboo frames, etc.  I am now thinking a cream and gold Greek key trim would be the perfect border (Liz, why didn’t I think of this while we were at M&J Trimmings?!)!  Which kind of makes me feel like painting my childhood bed gold could be fun!  And easily changed in the (likely) event I eventually change my mind…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaime permalink
    October 12, 2010 12:25 pm

    Love! Great job, Em. It turned out great.

  2. Ellen permalink
    October 12, 2010 9:45 pm

    L-O-V-E – Love it! Perfect fabric choice too. I am definitely feeling the Greek key gold trim.

  3. October 28, 2010 4:35 am

    Um, loving that tray! The redo looks great too…love the fabric.

Leave a Reply

