Skip to content

Fabricadabra: Headboard Inspiration

October 6, 2010

by Emily

So I am thinking I need to go ahead and put in a request to Santa so his elves can get to work on an upholstered headboard for me for Christmas.  Embarrassingly enough, I have somehow side-stepped purchasing a headboard for the past (please don’t judge me) year and a half.  I am feeling fickle!  I have played around with the idea of painting my childhood bed a navy or orange lacquer, ordering those darling fabric tufted headboards from Ballard Designs, and, now, having a custom headboard made.

Apart from all of the posts on my favorite design blogs, the shape inspiration for my custom headboard came from, obviously, the “Decorate” category under Bedrooms on Lonny found here.  This is such a great one-stop-shop resource if you have trouble imagining what look you are trying to achieve.

While I may not necessarily be entirely sold on the fabric selections to meet my personal tastes, here are a few of my favorite headboard shapes:

I love the height of this headboard and how the moldings on the wall "frame" the look.

Twinkie beds are kind of my favorite! What a darling set!

Doesn't this "hit the nail on the headboard"?? I am now convinced!

In terms of fabrics, LS Fabrics has a fantastic online selection and will gladly send very large fabric swatches so you can preview the look.  I am really in love with the last headboard (fabric selection and nail heads included), but I also think these prints might be winners:

I am sure I won't go ba-nanas and select the animal print, but isn't this a subtle but sassy one?!

I adore this subdued ikat.

OK, this bold one, too...

But a cream and gray trellis would be practical, right?

So maybe I won’t be making a final decisions anytime soon, but I do have a favorite shape to start with and some excellent fabric selections.  What is your vote? Painted vs. upholstered headboard? Bold and fabulous or subdued and chic fabric?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen permalink
    October 6, 2010 10:58 am

    I love upholstered headboards! I had one made a couple of years ago and llloooove it. When I was having it made I wanted nailhead trim and the upholsterer talked me out of it saying it was just a dust collector! But, I think it looks fabulous:)

  2. November 5, 2010 8:52 pm

    Great project Ideas!

Trackbacks

  1. Project: Wicker Linen Hamper « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

