Skip to content

Fall Doodles

September 29, 2010

by Elizabeth

photo by Ashlee Raubach, design by Caitlin Wilson, via houseofturqouise.com

My computer was stolen, again, and I’ve lost all my design inspiration files, again, so I’m just going to share this little vignette I saw on House of Turquoise today. The colors make me ridiculously happy, and I need both of these doodles. Plus, husband will like the bowls because they are burnt orange, I’m sure of it.

I want to go to the pumpkin patch, now. For me, fall really starts when I go to the Farmer’s Market and buy our pumpkins for the season. I clearly don’t like ‘regular’ pumpkins, Cinderella and ghost pumpkins are much more my style. Plus, white goes with everything. However a little thing called TX-OU weekend is getting in the way of my pumpkin patch plans, so pumpkin hunting will have to wait until Sunday.

So until nine days ago, I absolutely detested mushrooms. (Gew, gross, gag, they are slimy, people!) And then while Emily and I were on our Blogger Berkus Circus trip to NYC (more on that tomorrow, we promise), we had the most amazing meal with our girlfriends at L’Artusi, and we ordered the roasted mushrooms with pancetta, fried egg, and ricotta salata. After two glasses of wine I agreed to try it, and ohmygod, it was divine. The egg yolk broke open and bound the delicate, crispy mushroom bits to the smoky panetta and shaved cheese, and I can’t even describe how good it was. This was a life changing experience, and I mean really life changing. Just think of the recipe possibilities! Think of all the dishes with mushrooms I can order now! And then I was reading the fall issue of Sweet Paul, and I fell in love with this picture of mushrooms (I know, I’m going crazy) and I’ve decided I have to make the roasted mushrooms stat. So stay tuned for a recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

