Skip to content

Lucky Bamboo

September 21, 2010

by Emily

I have an affinity for bamboo, zigzags, trays, enamel, coral (shape and color!) … and now, apparently, spray paint.  According to my very crafty mother, “You can spray paint anything!”  She’s right and, don’t worry, I have embraced this so-called “re-purposing” trick.  I love it!


I have always been a big fan of a good deal whether I am shopping for some new wedges or need to do a decorating over-haul. Hello Houston’s finest: The Guild Shop. This re-sale shop mecca is a treasure trove for furniture, glassware, jewelry, Aunt Estelle’s old fur, (tired) art work, and a million other unique finds. And helloooo 2010, this is a great way to recycle. They are always very well stocked and it is easy to get overwhelmed (translation: a musty over-stimulation) by their fun (and sometimes crazy) stock. But fair warning: you must have an imagination.

Recently, I struck gold on my Guild Shop outings and have walked away with numerous bamboo frames (take or leave the “art”…) and brass trays with bamboo detail and handles. And, like mom said, you can spray paint anything. So, the lesson here is when you are treasure hunting, only focus on the actual shape of the item (bamboo, scalloped edges, zigzags) and the shape it is in to decide whether it is worth salvaging.

For this project, I pulled the old nails backing the art, removed extraneous staples, and wiped down the frames so they were free of debris. I then lined my patio with old boxes I have cut apart and paper grocery bags, overlapping them a bit so my patio does not end up with a Golden Girls lamè look, which might result in an even bigger DIY project!  While spray painting sounds pretty straight forward – and it is – here are a few tips to making your project turn out as well as possible:

Buy nice spray paint. My family swears by Rustoleum and it is worth the extra $1-$2/can for quality paint.
Patience is a virtue. Paint one coat, let it dry, period.  You will find that certain surfaces dry faster than others (for example, wood dries very quickly, while metals take extra time).  It is well worth your patience to let the paint dry so you do not have drips, runs, or sticking.
Spray 12-18″ away from the object using swift passes. This will allow for even coating.  The closer you get and the longer you dwell on a certain area, the less even it will be. PS – You’ll lose mega brain cells from paint inhalation this way, too.
Dry, dry, dry! It is sort of like getting your nails done.  Just wait those extra few minutes and your paint job will look even more amazing, free of finger prints.

If you can imagine, these frames turned bulletin boards used to be a pair of black and red eye sores that housed beat-up, Chinese inspired prints. Now, they are a super girly set used to organize invitations, pictures, notes, fabric samples, etc.  They are definitely a useful and attractive addition to my decor and essentially all I did was paint them gold, back them with cork board, and doodle them up.  Oh, and immediately rushed to the nail salon for a manicure, although I hear rocking the auto technician look is pretty cool these days.  Perfection!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 9:15 am

    Um…I just saw your picture on a list of bloggers going to see Nate! I didn’t even know you had this blog! Have fun! And loving your bamboo project. Why have I never been to The Guild Shop?

  2. Jaime permalink
    September 21, 2010 1:02 pm

    Love! You must post pics of the trays? I have the same ones in need of a facelift!

  3. September 21, 2010 8:30 pm

    Thanks for the “Mamasita” compliment. 🙂
    It all looks soooo good!

  4. Helen permalink
    September 30, 2010 11:35 am

    I’m going to have to go there on my next trip to Houston!! I LOVE the bamboo and the gold…fabulous!

Trackbacks

  1. Bamboo Update « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

