Skip to content

Fig Prosciutto Panini

September 13, 2010

by Elizabeth


I was fully planning on posting another recipe today, but I made this panini for a light dinner last night and now I can’t stop thinking about it, so that means I have to tell you about it righthisverysecond. (The other recipe is still coming, because it really is good – and, it’s actually a full meal, which if you haven’t noticed, isn’t really our favorite thing to talk about.)

I’m a big fan of sandwiches in general, but especially paninis. In college I probably ate nine turkey subs or chicken salad sandwiches per week, which looking back led to a terrible case of carb face, but whatever – still healthier than whataburger taquitos and DDD house squirty butter chicken. Now that I have a full kitchen and panini press at my disposal, I’ve gotten far more creative and elitist with my sandwiches, but I also tend to only make them on the weekends. Sandwiches just aren’t the same when you have to make them before work a full 4 hours before you’re actually going to be eating it…and let’s be honest, if I could justify buying a panini press for the office I would, but I’m not that crazy yet.

So back to this elitist panini – I used goat’s milk brie and a little mozzarella, but I imagine it would be good with any soft, mild cheese – brie, fontina, havarti, or muenster would probably work well. I would make this soon, while figs are still in season (through September-ish), but it could work with some preserved figs or fig jam too. PS, this is perfect girl food – husbands don’t like figs.

Fig Prosciutto Panini

serves 1

1 5-6 inch piece of Ciabatta bread, sliced in half horizontally

3 slices of prosciutto

2-3 figs, sliced (I used brown turkey figs)

2 tablespoons ricotta cheese

2 teaspoons Roasted Onion Garlic Jam (I used Stonewall Kitchen, but I imagine any similar onion jam will work)

2 ounces soft, mild cheese (I used grated mozzarella and sliced goat’s milk brie)

Mix the onion jam with the ricotta in a small bowl, spread it on one half of the bread. Top with sliced figs, you should have enough figs to cover the entire piece of bread. Put the remaining 2 ounces of cheese on the other half of bread, top with the sliced prosciutto.

I heated mine under the broiler, open faced, for about five minutes then put the sandwich together. I like this method because the prosciutto got a little bit crisp and the figs warmed up and melted into the ricotta spread. Alternately you could use a panini press, or a skillet a heavy plate to warm the sandwich and melt the cheese.

Leave a Reply

