Skip to content

Cheap and Chic Home Accessories

September 13, 2010

Decorating can often seem like a daunting task rather than super fun experiment when it feels as if you are limited by a budget, an existing color palette, superfluous opinions (sorry husbands and mothers!), or even your own growing sense of style.  No matter!  We think that decorating should feel more like styling an outfit – pairing nice pieces with inexpensive “finds” that really serve to capture your unique look and style. Just like you can throw on dark indigo jeans, a plain white t-shirt, leopard flats, an aqua scarf, lots of bangles, and grab a metallic bag and be (quickly and easily) all set, you can add similar flair to any room!  Luckily, there are plenty of affordable and still stylish options out there to help you achieve whatever look you are going for. We’re currently lusting over these finds:

Liz’s Picks

Console Table
$486.75

I have absolutely no use for this right now, but I love it. I saw it at the Wisteria outlet, and it is gorgeous in person – it is the perfect shade of distressed dove gray. Less than $500 for a quality piece of (multi-functional!) furniture is a steal in my book.

Rug
$355.30

I’ve been looking for a rug for our formal living room for months (ever since I moved the old one in a rearranging craze last winter). I love the color of this one, and the pattern adds just enough interest.


Ikat Fabric
$40/  yard

I know this fabric isn’t uber-cheap, but it’s most definitely very affordable for something small. A yard would be plenty for two throw pillows, and two yards would certainly cover four breakfast room chairs. I like that it could add a trendy and stylish ikat print to a room without being too brightly colored like some ikats are.

Honeycomb Tray
$14.99

So, clearly Emily and I went a little overboard on the John Derian for Target merch, but we didn’t see this cute tray! I love the honeycomb print – it’s fun and whimsical but the color keeps it neutral.

Greek Key Towels
$7.99

We’re currently remodeling our master bath, and you know what that means…new linens! I am going for white this time, but I love the greek key detail on these, it makes them not-so-boring and a little more chic. Maybe with a monogram in coral?


Starfish
$6 each

I just think these are darling, plus I have a weakness for shells. They’d be a perfect pop of color in the new white bathroom.
Twirl Mix by Kate Spade

Free!

This fun and fresh mix is perfect for a late summer soirée – or just an afternoon at home. Music is part of the backdrop of a fabulous life!

Emily’s Picks



Leopard Belgique Indoor/Outdoor Rug

$29-$229
I love how this rug serves as a subtle neutral despite being a print!  I can picture it in multiple places in a home adding extra appeal to a standard issue Pottery Barn beige sofa or even all white bedroom linens.  And practically speaking, this indoor/outdoor rug will stay in great shape despite wear and tear.

Clear Acrylic Ghost Chair knockoff
$135
Um, hello!  I love when traditional styles meet modern materials.  How fabulous (and accessible in price) is this knockoff ghost chair?!  I would love to use Liz’s Ikat print pick above and make a cushion for this guy and use it as a desk or occasional chair.  It is very clearly a neutral and extremely flexible for any setting.

Fuzzy Moss Rocks
$22 for 6
Sometimes you need doodles to fill decorative bowls or glass apothecary jars and I think these guys are too cute and add a little, fun texture!

Metallic Pouf
$99.95
I am clearly not over The. Pouf. Love.

Roulette Daisy Knob
$12

I love little details like this happy knob!  They can make even the plainest draw feel dressed up.

No comments yet

Leave a comment