Skip to content

Chicken Salad, hold the mayo

September 8, 2010

by Emily

If mayonnaise shows up in a recipe, there is a 99% chance I won’t make it.  I am not a picky eater, I am definitely not exceedingly healthy, but I just think “mayo” is super no bueno sick. And flavorless. And foul. And I feel like I am likely in good company.

Given this blatant distaste for one of America’s favorite ingredients, I am not exactly sure what motivated me to hunt for chicken salad recipes. But – as luck would have it – while I was checking out the Whole Foods website, I noticed that this recipe was not only top-rated, but mayo-free. Bingo!  This healthier take on the old classic was refreshing and flavorful, not unnecessarily heavy, which is how I normally imagine it.  The lemon juice and Dijon mustard provide a just enough zip and I loved this subtle sweetness the honey offered.

So for those of us out there who can’t quite wrap our taste buds around mayonnaise (and even those that can!), I think you’ll really love this great chicken salad recipe.  Try it over a bed of arugula, like I did, or with some sliced avocado.

Yogurt & Apple Chicken Salad, hold the mayo
Whole Foods’ recipe found here

1 cup low-fat cottage cheese
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon honey
2 tablespoons nonfat plain yogurt
2 tablespoons nonfat milk
Salt and pepper to taste
1 pound cooked skinless, boneless chicken breast, chopped
3/4 cup chopped celery
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1 granny smith apple, cored and chopped

Pulse cottage cheese, lemon juice, mustard, honey, yogurt, milk, salt and pepper in a food processor or blender.  In a large bowl, mix the chicken, celery, onions and apples. Pour cottage cheese mixture over the chicken mixture and stir gently to coat. Serve immediately or cover and chill until ready to serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina permalink
    September 8, 2010 12:03 pm

    Ummm mayo is my worst nightmare..but chicken salad always looks good! I will def try this!!

Leave a Reply

