Skip to content

Project Grilling Pizza

August 3, 2010

by Elizabeth

Last week I became obsessed with the idea of grilling pizza. I’ve been thinking about it since last summer, but I suddenly couldn’t get the thought of it out of my head. So I read a few (dozen) more articles, realized we had amazing pizza toppings in the fridge, and sent the following email to husband. “random thought. I want to try grilling pizzas….tomorrow night?” Since he was 100% preoccupied on the golf course, he said “sure babe, love you!” Success!

pre-dinner patio

Now I didn’t send an email at an inopportune time to get the answer I wanted (stealthy! you should take marriage tips from me) just to inform him I’m trying something new for dinner – that happens about twice a week. The hurdle here was gaining access to HIS grill. Cooking in the kitchen is my thing – grilling is most definitely his.  I don’t think husband fully realized that I would be commandeering his grill until the next morning. But by then we already had dough rising in the fridge and friends coming over, so there was no turning back!

husband supervises the grilling

We followed this guide from thekitchn on grilling pizzas. Amazingly, we had no dinner disasters – and it was really fun! I don’t understand how it works, but the dough really doesn’t stick to the grill grates at all. I even forgot to brush one with olive oil and it still didn’t stick. You do need to be organized and work quickly though. Note the mise en place in the photo above – have all your toppings ready to go, and some olive oil and a brush for the dough.

pizza under the moonlight

I rolled each ball of dough out on parchment paper, and stuck them in the fridge until we were ready to cook. This made the dough a little firmer and easier to work with. I brushed the top with olive oil and then inverted the dough/ parchment onto the grate, then peeled off the parchment (being careful not to let it catch on fire). I let it cook for a couple minutes, brushed the other side with olive oil, then flipped it over using tongs. I topped them and closed the lid to let the cheese melt and the sauce get warm and bubbly. We moved the first two pizzas off the direct heat once we had topped them. But we left the third pizza over the direct heat the whole time, which was the way to go. The guide said to heat the grill to 600˙, but ours was no where near that hot so the dough really needed to be on the direct heat to get nice and charred.

late night leftovers

We set a casual table on the patio under the fan. I put out a mini bucket of forks, paper napkins, Parmesan, and red pepper, crowded the table with 2 bottles of wine and a salad, and we served the pizza straight off of parchment paper. We ate and drank and gossiped and laughed about our weird neighbors for three hours –  a pretty perfect Friday night in my opinion.

Pizza Dough

From this recipe. I split the full recipe into 3 balls, then rolled each one out to about 10-12 inches. These were a little thicker than I normally prefer when cooking in the oven, but it’s best if the dough isn’t paper thin when putting it on the grill.

Pizza Sauce

2 cups canned, crushed tomatoes, 1 garlic clove, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, and salt. Puree in blender or food processor, and season to taste.

Pizza Toppings

Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Oven Roasted Cherry Tomatoes, and Basil

Sautéed leeks, Bacon, a little Mozzarella, and Garlic Herb Goat Cheese (this one was incredible.)

Tomato Sauce, Mozzarella, Pepperoni and Jalapenos

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 5:51 pm

    I LOVE this one! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. August 5, 2010 4:53 pm

    maybe we can do it at the BEACH!

  3. Helen permalink
    August 30, 2010 11:08 am

    Ummm, these sound delicious! Y’all have the best ideas ever:)

Trackbacks

  1. Fried Chicken Pizza « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

