Skip to content

Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons

June 16, 2010

by Emily

Last summer, my dear friend Katie and her mom went on a fabulous mother-daughter cooking trip through France.  Katie came back with some fabulous stories, some precious memories, and the cutest stinking apron I have ever seen – it is covered in colorful macaroons like these Ladurée bad boys! But seriously, don’t those look outrageously complicated to make?!  I am extremely intimidated and feel as if my own return trip to France is in order before I am even qualified to attempt them.

I mean, I really don’t know how I can even try to make such a beautiful treat without seeing a specimen, trying some different flavors (please say they have a Nutella macaroon), and perhaps even getting a lesson.   Then again, I won’t understand the lesson since I am forever indebted to Elizabeth for teaching me what our blog name even means!  (Just kidding.) But admittedly I was unreasonably proud of myself when I was in Paris a couple years ago and no one (immediately) spoke English to me (until I gave them a puzzled, dumb American look). That old American disguised as a Parisian with a Longchamp bag and 72 pashminas trick works every time!




Anyway, Ina had me thinking about what kind of treat to make that same dear friend, Katie, for her birthday.  While I am still feeling dubious about their colorful Parisian counterparts, I thought these fabulous (and rather simple!) macaroons would be the perfect way to celebrate such a sweet friendship. 

Chocolate Dipped Coconut Macaroons
14 ounces sweetened shredded coconut
14 ounces sweetened condensed milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 extra-large egg whites, at room temperature
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
10 oz (1 small package) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325°.

Combine coconut, condensed milk, and vanilla in a large bowl. In a separate small bowl, whip the egg whites and salt on high speed using an electric mixer and the whisk attachment. Whip until eggs make medium-firm peaks. Carefully fold the egg whites into the coconut mixture.

Drop the batter onto baking sheets using a small ice cream scoop. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until golden brown. Let cool on wire racks.

In a small bowl, microwave chocolate chips on high in 15 second increments, stirring between each round. Once completely melted, dip cookies one-by-one. Place on wax paper to set.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 12:13 pm

    Those macaroons looks so yummy… ummm we love this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

