Skip to content

Broccoli & Cauliflower Slaw

May 19, 2010

by Emily

So normally Elizabeth and I start out our posts just gushing about this and that about some recipe we just LOVE and must tell you ALL about RIGHT now… not in real life, just via the internet of course.

Well, friends, I am going to do something a little different here and tell you what I am definitely not “hearting” about this recipe…  Call me crazy (you might already!), but what is with this name? SLAW?? Really? Ew.

I know, I know, I am being completely petty.  But surely you agree?  Other than the fact that it is widely used, recognized, and accepted as a popular side dish name, I just can’t come to terms with it or, more importantly, invent my own euphemism for this recipe name. This can’t be creatively morphed from a “ball” to a “bite” so, SLAW it is.  And, yes, you are completely correct for pronouncing it “sla-awwww”.  That’s two syllables, maybe even three if you are really good.

So now that I have gotten that out of my system, I actually do just love this slaw!  The healthy ingredients are definitely not weighed down by a heavy dressing (especially if you make your own buttermilk and use reduced fat mayo), it can be made in advance, and it can even be assembled at its destination if you plan to take it with you somewhere.  The ingredients are versatile and the dish is flavorful.  So given all of this, I am giving up and just going to go ahead and say it: I LOVE SLAW.

Broccoli & Cauliflower Slaw
adapted from Smitten Kitchen, of course

1 large head of broccoli
1 large head of cauliflower
1/2 cup thinly sliced almonds, toasted
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/2 small red onion, finely chopped

Buttermilk Dressing
1/2 cup buttermilk, well-shaken*
1/3 cup mayonnaise (I used reduced fat)
2 tablespoons cider or red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
3 tablespoons finely chopped shalot or red onion
Salt and pepper, to taste

Trim broccoli and cauliflower and cut heads into large chunks. From here, you can either use your food processor’s slicing blade, use a mandolin to cut it into thin slices, or hand chop into smaller pieces. If you have one, I suggest the food processor – it is faster and safer.

Toss the broccoli and cauliflower with the almonds, cranberries, and red onion in a large bowl. Set aside. In a small bowl, whisk the dressing ingredients and salt and pepper to taste. Pour the dressing over the broccoli and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper.

Just like Deb suggests, you could easily adapt this recipe to meld to your own tastes. Use walnuts instead of almonds, currants or raisins instead of cranberries.  Add carrots and celery.

*I made my own, healthier version with skim milk following the set of directions at the bottom of this post.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

