Skip to content

What I Eat When I’m Alone

May 18, 2010

by Elizabeth

There is something very liberating about cooking just for yourself. No compromise on menus or ingredients, no husbands who don’t like asiago cheese or truffle oil, no guests’ tastes to consider, and no one to judge me if I just want to eat a wedge of brie. Yes, the whole thing.

Usually when I’m eating alone I prefer meals that really aren’t meals at all. Sort of tapas style – except it’s more like creative throwing together of ingredients I find in my fridge until I have something substantial enough for dinner…sometimes it works out, sometimes not so much. This time I knew husband would be out of town, so I planned ahead a little. I had zucchini that needed to be eaten, and since a huge plate of grilled zucchini really didn’t sound substantial enough for dinner, I settled on zucchini fritters. With some hummus, tzatziki, and pita from Izmir Market, I had a perfect meal for one.

I halved the original recipe, and still ended up with 8 fritters. I think it would serve four nicely as an appetizer or side. Meanwhile, my “little” meal has turned into four and I’m getting awfully tired of zucchini…shhh, don’t tell the fritters.

Zucchini Fritters

adapted from Bon Appetit

2 large zucchini, grated – about 3 cups
1/3 cup finely chopped white onion
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
1/2 cup freshly grated pecorino Romano cheese
1/3 cup toasted breadcrumbs
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon dried oregano (I might omit this if you aren’t crazy about oregano)

Line a mesh colander with paper towels and place over a bowl. Mix the zucchini, onion, and salt in the lined colander, let it drain for 30 minutes to 1 hour. Squeeze out as much liquid as you can from the zucchini.

Stir in the herbs, breadcrumbs, cheese, and egg. Form into patties, about 3 to 4 inches in diameter and 1/2 to 1 inch thick. You should have eight fritters. Heat 1/4 inch of oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.  When it is very hot, but not yet smoking, transfer the zucchini fritters to the pan. Let them cook for about three minutes, until crispy and golden brown, then flip them over. Cook for another 2 to 3 minutes, then transfer to paper towels to absorb any excess oil.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

