Skip to content

House Beautiful Advice Issue

May 12, 2010

by Elizabeth

I’m always thrilled when I see that House Beautiful has arrived in my mailbox, but this month I was even more excited – it was the “Big Advice Issue.” I don’t really believe in too many rules when it comes to decorating, but this issue was full so many great take-away tips from designers that I have to share my favorites. Hopefully these tips will help you overcome a decorating challenge in your home!

Melissa Warner - the cover room

“Too many chair and table legs can make a room “nervous.” A skirted piece or two will make it feel grounded.”

“One pair of pillows always looks skimpy. Use two pairs, in contrasting patterns, colors, and textures.”

– Melissa Warner of Massucco Warner Miller

David Jimenez

“Collections are a great starting point for a decorating plan.”

“You can’t get too worked up. Make a decision and just do it.”

– Mary Watkins Wood

House Beautiful

“Buy what you love.”

“Don’t be afraid to paint a vintage piece. Every piece of furniture can’t be brown.”

-Dan Marty

eek! don't know the credit!

“Always group things in odd numbers. Beware of using more than two pairs of anything in a room…Pick your paint colors last.”

– Stephen Drucker, editor of House Beautiful

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:48 am

    I read this issue at Jiffy Lube while getting my oil changed…don’t ask me why they had an issue of House Beautiful there but I’m glad they did 🙂 Great tips!!

Leave a Reply

