Skip to content

Barefoot Contessa Mustard Roasted Fish

April 6, 2010

by Elizabeth

Fish makes me nervous. There so many things that can go wrong with fish – What if this strange fish the fish monger said was “mild” is really the fishiest thing I’ve ever tasted? What if my refrigerator isn’t cold enough and it goes bad? What if it falls apart when I cook it?  What if I overcook it? Am I a terrible person because I don’t have the seafood watch app on my iphone? Irrational, yes, but it makes me nervous, and so I don’t cook it. Ever.

But this dish has changed my mind. I l.o.v.e. this fish. It was delicious, simple, and didn’t make me nervous at all. I should have know that the Barefoot Contessa wouldn’t fail me. It is quick enough for a weeknight, but elegant enough for a dinner party. Don’t be scared of the amount of mustard, the creme fraiche really softens the flavor of the sauce – it is surprisingly light and delicate. But do be careful not to overcook it, I would start checking the fish at 10 minutes.

Mustard Roasted Fish

adapted from Barefoot Contessa’s Back to Basics

4 (8-ounce) fish fillets such as gulf red fish or red snapper
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
8 ounces creme fraiche
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon whole-grain mustard
2 tablespoons minced shallots
2 teaspoons drained capers

Preheat the oven to 425°. Place the fish fillets skin side down (if the skin is not removed) in a large ovenproof baking dish, then sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Combine the creme fraiche, mustards, shallots and capers in a small bowl. Spread the sauce evenly over the fish, making sure all of the fish is covered. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until the fish is just barely done. The center of the fillet will flake easily with a fork. Place under the broiler on low for 2 to 3 minutes, just long enough to brown in parts. Serve hot with the sauce from the baking dish spooned over the fish.

Leave a Reply

