Skip to content

The Girl Scout: The Ultimate Enabler

February 22, 2010

by Emily


What is it about Girl Scout Cookies that makes me want to a.) squeal and yell “gimmeee!”, b.) pay exorbitant prices for, on average, a box of 12 cookies, and c.) rip open said box, discard the happy faces, and eat every last Thin Mint in sight?

I always wonder if it is a simple supply and demand formula? I mean, when you know you can only fat-kid-it-up once a year, it is totally fine to be over zealous and order 7 boxes of Samoa’s, right? For Elizabeth and me, it might be because we were, SHHHH!, Brownie drop-outs…  Perhaps we sold a box or two, but we clearly earned no patches. Are we suppressing feelings of failure and therefore need to take part in an emotional eating binge?! Maybe those Girl Scouts are just enablers and are secretly out to RUIN any sort of New Year’s resolution. They are very sneaky, these Girl Scouts, and I admit that I submit to their calls.

Whatever the case, Girl Scout Cookies are IN and I can’t tell you how thrilled I am!  I am actually indulging in my favorite Girl Scout Cookie, the almighty Thin Mint, as we speak… which prompts  me to ask, what is your favorite Classic Girl Scout Cookie? Please take our poll below:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    February 22, 2010 9:49 am

    Do-Si-dos! Or thin mints crumbled on top of vanilla ice cream (you should add that to your voting buttons).

    P.S. I, too, was a Brownie drop out. Couldn’t hang with the big timers.

  2. Clay permalink
    February 22, 2010 1:15 pm

    There is no such thing as a “Caramel deLite.” The preferred nomenclature is Samoa. And they are delicious.

  3. February 22, 2010 1:30 pm

    First and foremost, we must acknowledge and pay tribute where the first girl scout cookie was ever baked…Muskogee, OK!!!!! If you ever feel the need to visit said oven, let me know, it is marked as a historic monument.

    Secondly, I dropped out of brownies too. Patches are for dweebs (sorry patch-bearing friends)!

  4. February 22, 2010 3:57 pm

    It must run in the family…the true secret is that I too was a drop out! But we love the cookies.

Leave a Reply

