Skip to content

I Heart Valentine’s

February 14, 2010

by Emily

"Valentine cards had become a tradition of ours, born of the fact that we could never get ourselves organized in time to send out Christmas cards." - Julia Child, My Life in France

It is nearly 6:30 pm on Valentine’s Day 2010. How was it? Did Cupid rise to the occasion? Are roses still red, and violets blue? How long did it take you to polish off that box of chocolates?

I certainly feel loved and fortunate enough to celebrate this special day with my darling Valentine and maison-mate, Katie. Pink champagne? Why not! Girly brunch? Yes, please.

I think we would both agree that brunch at Mockingbird Bistro was the best.idea.ever. We sipped some refreshing mimosas and contemplated their fabulous brunch menu. I take that back, Katie contemplated while I refreshed my memory of their fabulous brunch menu – I mean, it is totally normal to visit restaurant websites and decide on your order weeks in advance of the actual meal, right?  Anyway, we predictably split an order of White Truffle Parmesan Frites, which were incredible. We think the menu writers should be a bit more generous, not to mention explicit, in their description, though. Perhaps they should describe the frites as “infused” (or even “swimming”?) in glorious truffle oil and topped with a generous helping of fresh Parmesan. I think a disclaimer about the frites’ addictive and intoxicating properties would also be appropriate. Honestly, it would only be fair to their patrons.

While we were clearly pleased with our starter, our main dishes were also excellent. Katie enjoyed the Mockingbird Bistro Benedict and I was in love my herbed goat cheese omelette. Don’t worry, the frites deserved our loyalty and we finished every last bite.

With a perfectly full stomach and heart, I discovered that Valentine’s Day is not only a great way to celebrate a friendship, but also a shared love for food!

XOXO

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

