Skip to content

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

January 25, 2010

by Emily

I picked up the word “doodle” from my co-blogger, Elizabeth. I clearly didn’t just “pick up” this phrase, though; I, in fact, embraced it. Yesterday, for example, I doodled around for some doodles for doodley-doo birthday dinner. As you can see, the best part about this word, is that it is so exceptionally versatile. It is a noun, a verb, an adjective, a doodle.

A sample conjugation:

I doodle
You doodle
He/she/it doodles

Get it?

I am even obsessed with Golden Doodles and, in terms of food, I can’t turn down a Snickerdoodle – especially if it is of the pumpkin variety.

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles
Recipe found here

Cookie
2 sticks butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cups pumpkin puree
1 large egg
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

Rolling Sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp allspice

In a large bowl, beat butter with a mixer until fluffy. Add sugar and pumpkin puree and beat well. Mix in egg and vanilla.

In another bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.  Add to wet mixture in thirds until well incorporated.

Chill dough mixture in refrigerator for one hour while you doodle.

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Mix the rolling sugar in a bowl. Remove the dough from the refrigerator and roll into small balls. Roll each ball through sugar mixture, coating each well.  Place 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheet. Pressing a juice glass down on the cookies helps to flatten them out and cook evenly.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Transfer to cookie rack to cool, then enjoy these fabulous doodles!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. JDoodle permalink
    January 26, 2010 11:29 am

    Thanks for testing it, Em! Will definitely be making these in the new kitchen. And as for doodles, my favorites are labradoodles!

  2. January 26, 2010 2:50 pm

    I have to pass credit to Sarah for the “doodle” craze! “Doodle” is almost as good as “Bonjour” for multi-use!

  3. Casey permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:47 pm

    I’m laughing at my desk right now. I used the word “doodle” at work once, didn’t go over as well as I’d hoped.

    • January 26, 2010 6:56 pm

      Maybe you should try again? I know that Red Bull makes me feel like I can doodle all the time, non-stop!

  4. January 27, 2010 6:13 pm

    Ahem… The Origin of the Doodle: When Katie turned 4ish, she recieved an artist’s easel. When she saw it she was so excited, all she could say was, “EEEEEEEEEE!! It’s a DOODLE!”

    The Stutts’ laughed and added it to our vocabulary.

    My future scottie will be named “Doodlebug.”

    We love le doodle.

  5. JDoodle permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:51 am

    Ummmm… these were AWESOME. A big hit with family and friends last weekend. I will definitely be making them again.

Trackbacks

  1. Arugula Salad with Lemon Dressing « Deux Maisons
  2. Pumpkin Bread Pudding « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

