Skip to content

13.1: Dos and Don’ts

January 18, 2010

by Emily

This past Sunday, like a crazy person, I got up at 4:30am and ran the Houston Half Marathon. I couldn’t have asked for more perfect weather – sunny and mid 40s the entire time I was running! – for my first race experience. I really thought this would be my first and last half marathon attempt, but I feel persuaded to keep up the training since I had such a fun (minus those last two miles) and injury-free experience. The fabulous crowd support was amazing along with the other runner’s encouragement. I also have to admit that I was really pleased that they were handing out ice cream (water and Gatorade, too, don’t worry) just past the finish line (for the record, it is totally fine to eat ice cream at 9:30am – it was just like Tribe Day at my summer camp). In hindsight, my pre-race jitters were mostly unnecessary, but I do have a few tips to help anyone attempting something like this to succeed in their goal:

Do:  Participate in healthy Carbo-Loading the day before the race
Don’t: “Carbo-load” on Lemon Ricotta Cookies and Houston Junior League Orange Rolls like I did, OOPS

Do: Purchase a glorified Fanny Pack, errr, SPIbelt, to hold keys, a just-in-case power bar, cell phone, etc
Don’t: Be a cheap-o and wear your old fanny pack from circa 1988

Do: Wear a brightly colored running outfit so friends can easily spot you and you can spot yourself in race photos
Don’t: Pretend you will look full of endless energy if you give a thumbs up to the race cameras – everyone knows you’re tired!

Do: Grab a friendly orange slice from crowd supporters
Don’t: Give the Jersey Shore-esque crowd supports a fist pump, although that would be very high energy of you (what up)

Do: Be proud of yourself for your great accomplishment!
Don’t: Get discouraged that just before you crossed the half marathon finish line, amazing athletes had already finished the full marathon

Do: Celebrate with friends over Brunch and mimosas (!) at a new spot you’ve been dying to try
Don’t: Forget to stretch, take a nap, and recuperate – way to go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink
    January 28, 2010 1:40 am

    Yea! I’m training for a half marathon in April. Thanks for the do’s and don’ts, but my Kids on the Block fanny pack will suit me just fine.

    • January 28, 2010 9:02 am

      All I can say is I hope you’re hanging tough through all the training – and that we should run one together!

Leave a Reply

