Skip to content

Hot Cheese Puffs

December 16, 2009
tags:

by Elizabeth

When our friend Casey emailed us about her annual white elephant Christmas party, she asked us all to let her know what appetizer we would be bringing. Within approximately 12 seconds I replied saying “I’m not sure exactly what I’m bringing yet – but it will be cheese-based!” Big shocker there, I’m sure. After all, cheese is my favorite food group.

I apologize for yet another cheese recipe – but ohmygod these are so good. Seriously addictive. I’m already trying to figure out the next party I can bring them to. Or, the next time I can make them and hide in my kitchen and eat them ALL, by myself. (Or maybe co-blogger Emily will help me when she comes to Dallas on Friday!)

Hot Cheese Puffs, from Grandma Ann

Makes 35-40 hors d’oeuvres

8 oz cream cheese
¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
¼ cup grated cheddar cheese
½ cup Mayonnaise
1 ½ tsp grated onion
2 tbsp chopped green onions or chives
¼ tsp cayenne
2 tsp lemon juice
1 package party bread
butter or margarine

Preheat the oven to 350. Let the cream cheese soften, then mix the cheeses, mayonnaise, onions, cayenne, and lemon juice together. This can be made in advance and refrigerated if desired.

Spread the party bread with butter or margarine. Then spread each piece of bread rather generously with the cheese mixture. At this point they can be flash frozen and saved for later. When you’re ready to bake, arrange them on one or two cookie sheets and bake for 12 minutes. Then broil for 2-3 minutes, until the cheese turns golden brown on the top.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Casey permalink
    December 17, 2009 12:53 pm

    SOOOOOOOO delicious! Makes me want some more right now!

Trackbacks

  1. Cheese Lovers’ Day! « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

