Skip to content

Caramelized Onion & Blue Cheese Tart

November 20, 2009

By Elizabeth
I’m in the middle of a love affair with puff pastry. It’s really getting out of control, but I can’t stop. The thing is, it makes my life so easy (not to mention it’s insanely delicious).

This goes back to my fear of baking. I’m slowly trying to overcome this irrational fear, and I’ve made pastry dough a few times now (this ridiculously good tart called for it), but I still cringe and my heart starts to race when I’m reading a recipe and I come upon the “for the crust” line. I worry that I’m going to screw it up somehow – and I’m not ready to take that risk when I’m cooking for people other than myself and husband.

Because please tell me what happens if I ruin the crust, which therefore ruins the whole, otherwise fantastic, tart?! And I don’t even know that it’s ruined until hungry guests are arriving, because clearly the Blue Cheese and Caramelized Onion Tart is best right out of the oven?! Bad things happen, that’s what.

So puff pastry has become my crust of choice for times when I need something quick and easy, or when the thought of making pastry dough sends me into a near panic-attack. Obviously it won’t work every time you need a crust, but I think it’s perfectly suited for this dish. I served these at our Homecoming party, and they were so good, they even made the frozen pizza bites look gourmet!


Blue Cheese and Caramelized Onion Tart
adapted from Bon Appetit

1 sheet of puff pastry
6 oz blue cheese crumbles
2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 large onions (about 2 pounds), halved, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh rosemary
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 375˚
Pull the puff pastry out of the freezer and let it thaw for about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt the butter with the oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the onions and saute for about 10 minutes, until they are soft and starting to brown. Add the rosemary, sugar, and salt and cook the onions for about 20 more minutes. They should be very soft, dark brown, and to.die.for. Let them cool just a bit. (They can be cooked a day ahead and refrigerated)

Unfold the sheet of puff pastry (usually they come folded into thirds), and roll it out on a baking sheet until it is an 11×13 rectangle (or so).

Prick the inside with a fork, leaving a 1/2 inch border around the edges. If you want it “puffier”, just don’t prick the inside of the dough. Spread the onions in an even layer all over it, then sprinkle the blue cheese on top.

Bake for about 25 minutes (check the directions for your puff pastry brand), until the cheese is melted and the crust looks golden and crispy. Cut into 2×2 inch squares to serve as finger food, or into larger squares for a seated appetizer course.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet Paul « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

