Skip to content

Parmesan Asiago “Salsa”

November 17, 2009

by Elizabeth

I know this doesn’t look like anything too special – yes the photo is terrible (no, I haven’t figured out how to take good pictures as 20 people are walking into my house) – but in real life it doesn’t look too spectacular either. One of my friend’s husbands asked if it was “that stuff I like” – meaning “risotto” and several others stared at it for a few minutes before finally asking what it was.

It’s awesome is what it is. I called it “salsa” for lack of a better term – and because “a bunch of cheese ground up in the food processor” didn’t sound very nice. But that would be the honest answer.

I served it with crackers and it got rave reviews – but it was even better the next day when we heated it up on baguette slices. Like the best garlic bread, ever. I had the last few spoonfuls tossed with pasta on Sunday night after my guests had gone, and it was just what I needed after a long, tiring, and very fun weekend.

Parmesan Asiago Salsa (aka my new favorite party trick)

adapted from Michael Chiarello

1/2-lb. Parmesan cheese, not too dry
1/2-lb. Asiago cheese, not too dry
2 Tbs. chopped green onion
2 tsp. minced garlic
2 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp. red pepper flakes
1-1/2 cups extra-virgin olive oil

Remove any rind from the cheeses and chop them into rough 1-inch chunks. Using the food processor, pulse the cheeses into pieces the size of peas (or so). Add the green onions, garlic, oregano and peppers and pulse just a few times to get it well incorporated. Stir in the olive oil, then transfer to a serving bowl. This makes a lot of cheese.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

