Skip to content

Front Door Appeal

November 16, 2009

by Emily

Welcoming front door.

When I was considering buying my maison in April, I loved the darling red front door but knew I would have to work on the general curb appeal.  So after I took the plunge and bought the place, the speedy remodel began.  When the bulk of the work was complete and my gang of workers took off, I had my carpenter change out the tired brass locks and hardware to a fresher brushed nickel finish.  Carlos summed up the front door outcome to me:  “Miss Emily, you not going to like this.”

Before.

Carlos was right.  Of course the new hardware was not the same size as the brass mess.  Of course we (Carlos) had to fill the empty spaces with scrap wood from the cabinet work.  And of course there was NO way I could match up the existing red paint.  Solution?  My once snappy red door is now black.  And it actually looks pretty sharp.

I spent some time over the last few weeks dressing it up a little and I think I have successfully created the appeal I was imagining.

1.  Fresh, new numbers:  Bering’s had some great options that fit my personal style and also the size of the door very well.

Fresh, new numbers.

2.  Hand-Turn Door Bell: My parents have one of these reproduction door bells in their home and I couldn’t help but copy.  Other than being unique, it will always work and it eliminates the need for a receiver box on the wall.

Hand crank door knob - inside view.

3.  A simple wreath:  The Martha Stewart website had some great ideas for do-it-yourself holiday wreaths.  This moss and berry wreath cost me less than $20 to make.

Martha inspired holiday wreath.

A few inexpensive projects later, and I feel like the front of my maison has benefited from a major face-lift.  Even though Carlos was right, I am now very happy with the outcome and hope that guests feel welcomed with a warm and inviting front door!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    November 17, 2009 2:57 pm

    Love the wreath. Love it.

    P.S. Please make some peanut butter iced cupcakes for the next book club.

  2. November 17, 2009 7:21 pm

    Kath, the icing is amazing… will do.

Trackbacks

  1. Shutter Down « Deux Maisons

Leave a Reply

