Skip to content

Spanish Chorizo and Chickpeas with Vegetables

November 3, 2009

by Emily

Chorizo on a festive fall table.

Chorizo meal on a festive fall table.

I admit, I am not exactly the most adventurous cook. I am often dissuaded to try new things when I see a recipe that either a.) includes something I have never heard of, b.) has entirely too many ingredients, or c.) calls for use of some fancy gadget that I would never ever buy given I spend all my money at www.jcrew.com. This inevitably leads to unfortunate substitutions (heavy whipping cream/skim milk…what’s the difference?!), my desire to register at Williams Sonoma (even though I am not engaged), and basically an inescapable recipe flop (five substitutions, blender = food processor in my mind, etc, etc).

Whatever.

I have found ways to work around my kitchen shortcomings and my main piece of advice is to find very flexible recipes.  If you are anything like me, then take this recipe and run with it.  It will surely be a crowd pleaser.

Spanish Chorizo and Chickpeas with Vegetables

Adapted from: Whole Foods Spanish Chickpeas and Chorizo
Serves 4 as a meal, 6+ as an appetizer

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
1/2 pound spicy chorizo (2-3 links), cut into pieces
2 cups (cooked) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
Salt and pepper to taste

Cooked chorizo

Cooked chorizo.

For good measure (and some color/Halloween flair), I added:
1 sweet potato, thinly sliced
1 orange bell pepper, chopped

Additional ideas:
Jalapenos, roasted tomatoes, multi-colored fingerling potatoes

In a saute pan, heat 2 tbsp olive oil and cook sweet potatoes until soft.  Remove from heat. In a large saute pan, heat 1 tbsp olive oil and add sliced chorizo and cook until nearly done. Add yellow onion, sauteing until clear.  Stir occasionally to get the flavor from the chorizo. Add the beans, bell pepper, the sweet potato and cook another 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

No flop here.  Guaranteed.

Ready for a serving dish.

Ready for a serving dish.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

