Skip to content

PB&J Muffins

June 23, 2010

by Emily

Have you ever prepared a special treat because, say, you have guests in town for a certain, special event?  Having co-blogger Elizabeth and our sweet friend Sarah stay at my maison before our friend’s wedding festivities got underway was a perfect start to the weekend.  They are honestly the easiest house guests because not only are they laid back (maybe we just like the same things?!) and so much fun, they are also willing to try whatever treat I decide I must throw together in honor of their visit (did I mention they often arrive bearing gifts such as Champagne, pretty hand towels, or doodle napkins, which I gladly accept).

I should be a bit more honest with myself and rephrase my opening question to ask whether you have ever selfishly prepared a little treat because, say, you are OBSESSED with the main ingredient, peanut butter?  Yes, yes I have…  I shamelessly admit it!  I made these fab cookies “for” a co-worker, my first attempt at candy for a “birthday”, and now these amazing muffins because we “needed” a special breakfast item for Friday, before brunch at Brennan’s, obviously.  Elizabeth and Sarah are kind of the best for playing along, just one more time.

PS – If you answered “yes” to both of my questions, we should be friends.  Email me.

PB&J Muffins
Baking Bites Recipe

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (I prefer whole wheat)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup brown sugar
6 tablespoon butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
1/3 cup jam (I used boysenberry and would love to try honey)

Preheat the oven to 375°.  Prepare muffin tins.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and brown sugar.

In a medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, peanut butter, eggs, and milk until smooth. Pour liquid mixture into flour mixture and stir until just combined.

Fill each cup of the prepared muffin tin about halfway with batter. Top each with a heaping teaspoon of jam and cover with remaining batter. Each muffin cup should be filled nearly to the top.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, until a tester comes out clean and the top of the muffin springs back when gently pressed.

Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 12-15 muffins

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    June 23, 2010 9:41 am

    This recipe makes me extra happy…along with the mouth-watering peanut butter cookie recipe. They’re already printed out & going in my cookbook! Ya’ll are the *best*!! ~KB

  2. Katy permalink
    June 23, 2010 10:07 am

    Emily loves her peanut butter! She got me hooked on carrots and pb! How I long for those individual-sized smucker’s cups at the Delta house…

  3. June 23, 2010 2:15 pm

    Kelly – the cookies and muffins will not disappoint! Can’t wait to hear what you think.

    Katy – we need to get our hands on those Smucker’s single servings again…kind of amazing. I’ll ask Ms. C.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

